For far over a century, a crumbling Victorian home in the small Wisconsin agricultural community of Eureka has been slowly sinking in on itself. While the abandoned estate stood out in a community surrounded by farmland and filled with barns, the legends linked with it make it much more fascinating. From twin twins to gangsters, the Foote Mansion has piqued the interest of Wisconsin residents since the nineteenth century.
Foote Mansion was supposed to be a dream home
Argalus and Augustus Foote, twin brothers, erected the Foote Mansion in 1852. Growing children, the brothers were so close that they couldn’t envision being separated as adults. When the couple married (in a double wedding to ladies with the same initials as their own), they set out to create a house for their burgeoning brood.
The only known portrait of Argalus and Augustus Foote. (Photo Credit: Daniel Butkiewicz/ Oshkosh Public Museum)
The Foote home was built in two halves, with one half identical to the other. The Foote brothers erected a gorgeous Italianate residence for their families, which was painted cream and green.
The ceilings were 12 feet high, and the windows were 9 feet tall. The home was capped with a cupola, allowing the brothers to keep an eye on their ever-expanding acreage. Visitors entering the front doors would find two unique kitchens, four different parlor rooms, two dining rooms, and almost a dozen bedrooms. Each half of the home was built to be a mirror image of the other half.